Corey’s Famous Sausage Soup (+ Kale)

This recipe comes from my friend Corey’s blog, Corey’s Clean Eats — I made it for the first time this weekend and now I know why it’s famous. It’s hearty, warming, and a little spicy, and tastes even better the next day. I modified by adding kale at the end of cooking, subbing hot Italian sausages for sweet, and threw in fresh garlic and some thyme from my garden (which thinks it’s still fall outside). Thanks for the recipe, Corey!image

Corey’s Famous Sausage Soup (+ Kale), modified from the original, posted on Corey’s Clean Eats

Ingredients

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 large carrots, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
4 large hot Italian sausages (good-quality pork, turkey, or chicken), casings removed and discarded
1 28 oz. can San Marzano diced tomatoes
4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
4 cups low-sodium beef broth (if you can only find brands with added sugar, use all chicken broth instead)
1 tablespoon minced fresh thyme (or 1 teaspoon dried)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon coarse ground pepper
1/4 teaspoon sea salt (more to taste)
2 bay leaves
1 bunch kale, chopped and thick stems removed

Instructions

1. Heat olive oil in a large soup pot over medium heat.
2. Add onions, carrot, and celery and sauté until onions are translucent.
3. Add the sausage (without casings!) and  thyme, pepper, and salt.
4. Cook sausage, breaking up with a wooden spoon, until no longer pink.
5. Add garlic and sauté until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
6. Add diced tomatoes and bring the mixture to a boil.
7. Add chicken broth, beef broth, and bay leaves. Bring to a boil and reduce the heat to medium-low. Simmer, partially covered, for at least one hour.
8. Before serving, stir kale into the soup. It’s ready to serve about two minutes later (once kale has had a chance to cook briefly). Taste the soup and add more salt if necessary.

Corey says: “I tend to simmer my soup for long periods of time. I love how it makes my house smell, and I usually am doing 800 other things so leaving it on the stove to cook until I’m ready to eat works well for me. This soup is also exponentially more delicious the next day, once all the flavors have had a chance to meld together overnight.”