Moroccan Grilled Salmon

Photo from The Clothes Make the Girl -- I'll take my own when I make it next!

Photo from The Clothes Make the Girl — I’ll take my own when I make it next!

Quick weeknight meal alert! I’m so glad I gave this deceptively simple marinade a try. It’s now my favorite way to cook salmon, so thanks, Mel from The Clothes Make the Girl! The only thing that would require less effort is throwing that salmon filet in the pan naked (and what kind of lunatic wants to eat THAT?!). Because there’s only a little olive oil and a lot of spice, the marinade creates a delicious crust over the fish when it’s seared.

I’ve never made it with the fresh ginger . . . because I always zone out at Whole Foods and walk right by that bin of little tan ginger nubs and forget to buy it. I bet with fresh it would be REALLY spectacular!

Moroccan Grilled Salmon, from The Clothes Make the Girl

Marinade Ingredients:

Makes enough for about 1.5 lbs. of salmon fillets

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger or 1 1/2 teaspoons dried

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin

1 1/2 teaspoons ground coriander

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Directions:

1. Mix the oil, ginger, cumin, coriander, salt, and cayenne together in a small bowl. The marinade makes a paste with the consistency of very thick salad dressing. It forms a crust during grilling that’s crispy and flavorful.

2. Rub the marinade over the salmon, then cover and refrigerate 30 minutes.

3. Preheat gas grill on high with lid closed for about 10 minutes, then place salmon skin-side down, close the lid and wait 4 minutes. Raise the grill lid… the skin should be a little blackened and starting to separate a bit from the pink flesh. Take a deep breath, gather your confidence, and flip the fillet. Breathe a sigh of relief, close the lid, and wait another 3-5 minutes, depending on how well-done you like your salmon.  (Note: I don’t have a grill – I know, I know, I’ll get one come summer – so I make this in my grill pan or handy dandy cast iron skillet. Works like a charm!)

4. Remove from the grill and eat like a cave person.

Leave a comment